Feeling Romantic

Day 060/100

Have not had a poetry day for a while so as I am feeling a tad romantic at the moment. I have chosen one of the works of Coleridge one of the romantic poets to entice romance to come forth. Here’s wishing.

Love

by Samuel Taylor Coleridge

And in Life’s noisiest hour,
There whispers still the ceaseless Love of Thee,
The heart’s Self-solace and soliloquy.
You mould my Hopes, you fashion me within ;
And to the leading Love-throb in the Heart
Thro’ all my Being, thro’ my pulse’s beat ;
You lie in all my many Thoughts, like Light,
Like the fair light of Dawn, or summer Eve
On rippling Stream, or cloud-reflecting Lake.
And looking to the Heaven, that bends above you,
How oft! I bless the Lot that made me love you.

2 thoughts on “Feeling Romantic

  1. Carrie says:

    I absolutely adore this poem. I thought I was familiar with at least the names of most poets, but I don’t seem to recognize Coleridge. Who was he?

    • vacantpages says:

      Hi Carrie, Coleridge was a member of the Lake Poets and the Romantic movement in England, his most famous poem is The Rime of the Ancient Mariner, and is best known for his long poems. He would be included with the likes of John Keats, Lord Byron and Percy Bysshe Shelley. The big named Romantic Poets. Hope this helps. Thanks for stopping by.

Leave a Reply

