How do you get there?

Day 051/100

A few days ago I was pondering the notion of Where do I want to go? but in the grand scheme of things did not really take into account how on earth you get there and what gets lost when traveling. From experience at seventeen your pathway through the world seems pretty straightforward, for me it was get to university, do my masters and obtain my doctorate and I suppose in between meet my soul mate, get married and consider having children. Well progress seventeen years and lets see where we are, did get ti university, got my masters and about to start a doctorate in september. All seems pretty on track, but unfortunately I did not realize that in order to do well academically some things get lost in the precess, or rather be misplaced hoping to be rediscovered at a later date. For me conversations between friends and myself tend to few and far between when I am studying, and relationships pass me by, I am so focused on my education that I completely miss all the signals. The reason being that I love what I do and tend to get so wrapped up in it that it is all I do, for hours at a time, everything else in my sphere becomes not obsolete but invisible for long periods of time. In addition I have no issues with being on my own for large periods of time, it just never dawns on me that the rest of world could be a bit different. What makes my journey possible from A to B is the understanding of my friends and family, that at some point I will actually finish what I am doing and come back to the real world. Additionally although relationships have been few and far between, I think I have had the time to get to know who I am and what makes me tick, so I am better able to really recognize what it is I want from a relationship and make it work. Unfortunately society has these preconceived notions even now, that a girl should be married by a certain age, and give up everything she has earned to become a cherished mother and wife. What society fails to take into account there are women out there who do not fit the traditional conventions and that life for us is no less rewarding or fulfilling. As they say all good things come to those who wait.

 

2 thoughts on “How do you get there?

  1. I think you will find just what you need, when you need it, relationship-wise. There are far more women now that live their lives without kids and without spouses. If you love what you are doing, that is all that matters I think 🙂

    • vacantpages says:

      You are right if you truly love what you are doing the rest of the pieces will fall into place. I think I need to have a little more patience and faith in the universe.

Leave a Reply

