A father carries pictures where his money used to be (how true)

Day 033/100

“A dad is someone who wants to keep you from making mistakes but instead lets you find your own way, even though his heart breaks in silence when you get hurt” Unknown

The first time I hear my Dad cry was the day I got my undergraduate results, I had no option but to have him taken out of class. I was crying so much I do not think he heard me at first and then once he understood we both ended up crying, (my mother was just as bad). That was quite a while ago and between then and now his faith in me has never wavered, even if I the paths I have followed has not been the most direct or smooth. That is why I choose the opening quote, he has let me make my mistakes and will undoubtedly let me make even more, for he knows that by making them I will be a stronger person for it, even if it hurts him to stand by and not intervene. He never judges, questions, criticizes or interferes but has always made known in his own quite way that he will always be there to help and support. Like the time I got my nose pierced two weeks after I had surgery, told him I was moving to Canada to do my masters, trying to get through my high school finals or through the umpteen diets I have started and never finished. As with any relationship ours has evolved over the intervening years, moving from a new father having to cope with a rather stinky, pink bundle of joy, through those teenage years of chaos, to sitting watching his first born receive her degree, and waving goodbye in the airport knowing I was was not going to be home in two weeks. My childhood was spent trying to make things out of bits and pieces, and attempting to copy Dad’s technical drawings for class, to trying to get through high school metal work in one piece, plucking up the courage to tell him I was declining an offer to do aeronautics, and that I would not be coming home from Canada when I finished my studies as I had got a job there. He has come along way from 7.50pm on a wild October night when I presented to him, and refusing to hold me as he was a afraid he would drop me. All these years later he has still managed to keep me from falling, and without him I would not be the person I am today. But as they say behind every great man is a great woman, and he would not be the father he is today without the continued support and love from my Mom. To all the Dad’s and Mom’s out there as we your children get older we begin to realize that there is no manual to raising a child and all you did mistakes and all, you did for us, you did your best for us even if we did not realize it at the time, as your child this is all we can ask for, and we thank you for it.

 

Leave a Reply

