Newspapers a dying breed

Day 028/100

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/magazine-18346130

This link takes you to an article on the BBC’s website discussing the downsizing of the New Orleans newspaper The Times-Picayune. Due to the financial downturn the paper will now only be published 3 days a week with the balance of information being accessible online. I remember being in New Orleans in 2005 and reading the paper for everyday I was there, the same as I would when in Canada or Ireland. There is not a day that goes by where I do not read a newspaper of some description. To me newspapers are a more tangible connection to the world we exist within, the fact the information is written down somehow makes it more valid and real, than the same information being viewed on 24 hour news channels. Ultimately, like reading a book it is the experience of sitting at breakfast or over coffee and physically turning the pages, feeling the thin paper, with the ink coming away, staining your fingers. As much as online appears to be the way to progress, in adopting this avenue, we begin to loose those master craftsmen and the skills they utilize, in order to breath life into the creation of a newspaper. There is a physicality to the process that can not, and I believe should not, be replaced in the digital age. Remember that in passing through any airport in the world, no matter what grip the digital appears to have, you are still solemnly greeted at newsstands by The New York Times, The Guardian, The Irish Independent, Die Welt, and Le Monde. Comforting to know the printed word can still be more prized than the digital.

5 thoughts on “Newspapers a dying breed

  1. Carrie says:

    It’s refreshing to see someone else who takes comfort in the written word. I agree wholeheartedly, and I feel saddened by the fact that print news is going “out of style”.
    I’ve read your first few posts, and I look forward to coming back for more. 🙂

    • vacantpages says:

      Hi Carrie, thanks for looking in, I don’t think I could survive without reading on any day of the week. Always have a book about my person somewhere. You just can’t beat the whole experience, not quite the same with a computer.

      • Carrie says:

        I agree. I pick up my favorites at least once a day, and then try something different at least weekly. I’m glad to see I’m not the only one.
        Thanks for the comment, by the way.

  2. sextails says:

    This is so true. As an english student I am immersed in Literature a great deal of the time, and believe we should all read something everyday, whether it be something intellectual, a novel, a magazine, a paper… anything!

    • vacantpages says:

      Thank you for the comment, agree wholeheartedly we should all read something everyday. I think conversations would be more entertaining and we would at least have a better grasp of the world around us and language.

Leave a Reply

