Doubting Thomas

Day 019/100

Doubting Thomas is a painting by Caravaggio from 1602/3 which now hangs in the National Gallery of Ireland. It is a painting I have seen many times and find it startling in its execution and how the notion of proof needs to be seen to be believed. At present I am the doubting Thomas, wondering if sometimes its better to chuck everything in, than to risk failing attempting to get what you really wish for. I have spent my life working towards a career in academia, to being a professor in some fantastic art institution. Over the last number of months I have worked towards getting a place at university, late nights writing the proposal, surviving the interview and being offer a place. But, isn’t there always one, I am not sure if I can do it, doubting weather I can hold my own against other research students and prove myself to my supervisors, without ending up looking like a complete twit. Then again I did manage to survive the application process, so me thinks they see something I can not see at present, that may become more apparent as time progresses. Maybe the fact others have conviction in your abilities helps to ease the doubts. I think the following quote is something for everyone to aim for not just me – 

Dream what you want to dream, go where you want to go, be what you want to be. Because you have only one life and one chance to do all the things you want to do.

Unknown

Leave the doubts aside and grab every opportunity with both hands, they may not always be good, but you will learn something.

3 thoughts on “Doubting Thomas

  1. Very heartfelt 🙂
    Keep up the good work, I’m sure you’ll surpass every expectation if you keep trying x

Leave a Reply

